Camion Hall – located next to the taxi stand in Victoria – is one of only a few places in Seychelles’ capital that sells souvenirs and locally made items. Though not an iconic building, it is nevertheless historical and has a strong place in the craft industry of Seychelles.

As Camion Hall celebrates its 30th anniversary since its inauguration on April 27, 1991, SNA presents five facts about the building.

Strong links to education

Prior to becoming Camion Hall, the building had several purposes. In the early 1900s, the building was a girls school for the Anglican Church.

It served as a school meal centre in 1945 for the school children of Victoria.

In 1970, the building was used as a sewing school, where classes were held on the premise by Ron Gurlash, an English man who was in the art of batik.

A new building

The building seen today was built in 1991 through a project financed by the European Commission and the government of Seychelles.

The purpose of the building was to act as a centre for the development of local artisans by providing training and workshops to develop the skills of the local people. Live training session and exhibitions were also held.

It was considered as a tourist attraction site where tourists were able to visit the exhibition and also observe the training whilst it was ongoing at the time of their visit.